National School of Polytechnic Studies (ENSP)

ENSP's building


About the ENSP


To ensure its strategic positioning at the regional level, the ENSP has adopted the following mission :

  • training of line managers in the fields of mechanical engineering, civil engineering, electrical engineering and food science and technology;
  • conducting applied research in national technological development and knowledge and technological transfers
  • continuous training of technical staff in collaboration with the National Centre for Distance Learning;
  • dissemination of technological culture;
  • the provision of advisory and technical assistance services


The National School of Engineering (ENSP) is one of eleven institutions that make up the Marien Ngouabi University (UMNG). The ENSP was established in 1996 by a resolution of UMNHG’s Steering Committee to replace the National Institute of Technical Education, which was created in 1981.


Director of ENSP

National School of Engineering

Université Marien Ngouabi
BP 69, Brazzaville, Congo


Direction adjointe



Admission to the ENSP is subject to the successful completion of a competitive exam organized each academic year and open to :

  • Candidates with baccaleureate Series C, D, E, F and R or equivalent qualifications for entry into first year of the Bachelor’s program : 
  • holders of DEUG, Licence or equivalent qualifications for entry into the first year of engineering studies or first year of the pre-master’s program.


Educational activities are organized around six training programs, including a bacherlor’s program, two master’s programs, and three engineering studies programs. Specific programs include :


  • Industrial Maintenance;
  • civil engineering, option Buildings and Public Works;
  • Electronics and Telecommunications Degree
  • Electrical Engineering and Power Electronics;
  • Industrial Food Engineering
  • Food Quality and Control

Master’s :

  • Telecommunications;
  • Petroleum Engineering
  • Engineering Studies
  • Electromechanical engineering;
  • Food Industries and Engineering
  • Civil Engineering

The academic cycle is organized into semesters. Each academic year consists of two semesters of fourteen weeks each. Internships with companies are organized each year for students to obtain technical training.

A doctoral degree in engineering sciences has been offered at ENSP through the UNESCO Chair in Engineering Science since the 2012-2013 school year. The doctoral program commences after a master’s and trains students in a doctorate in engineering sciences in areas relevant to ENSP, including

  • Molecular Engineering and Sensory Food Engineering
  • Electrical and Electronics
  • Civil engineering;
  • Mechanical Engineering;
  • Process engineering.


Laboratories and Research Teams

Research at ENSP is conducted in two laboratories and through three research teams:

  • Research Team on  Applied Energetics (REIA), directed by Dr. Leon VOUMBO MATOUMONA, Lecturer;
  • Research Team on Materials and Flow in Porous Media (ERMEMP), led by  Dr. Richard Roman Lecturer
  • Research Team on  Electrical and Electronics (GREE), heeded by  Professor Désiré LILONGA, Lecturer;
  • Laboratory  of Physical Chemistry and Biotechnology of Food (PMLA), headed by Mathurin NZIKOU, Titular Professor;
  • Laboratory of Valorization of Agro-Resources (LVAR), headed by Professor Marie Geneviève MALOUMBI, Lecturer.



Belgium: Catholic University of Leuven, University of Liege;

Burundi: University of Burundi;

Cameroon: National Polytechnic University of Yaoundé;

Canada: University of Montreal, University Superior Technology;

Ivory Coast: INSET Yamoussoukro;

Cuba: José Antonio Echeverría Institute;

France: IUT Lyon, ENSET Cachan, Paul Sabatier University in Toulouse, ENSEM Nancy; ENTPE Lyon, ENSEEIHT Toulouse, Polytech Marseille;

Gabon:  Masuku Polytechnic Institute;

Democratic Republic of Congo:  ISTA Kinshasa


Total E&P CONGO, SCPE, Hôpital A.SICE, Agri-Congo, CFCO, Hôpital Makélékélé, BCBTP, TDC, BRASCO, Schlumberger, OCT, PAPN, Etablissements MIANBANZILA, SNE, CHU, ENI-CONGO, SNDE, PABPS.